A Daughter’s Journey With Her Dad’s Alzheimer’s

The Serenity Prayer is one that I’ve been thinking of over the last few weeks.

God grant me the serenity
To accept the things I cannot change;
Courage to change the things I can;
And wisdom to know the difference.

Living one day at a time;
Enjoying one moment at a time;
Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace;
Taking, as He did, this sinful world
As it is, not as I would have it;
Trusting that He will make all things right
If I surrender to His Will;
So that I may be reasonably happy in this life
And supremely happy with Him
Forever and ever in the next.
Amen.

The first paragraph is all that I am familiar with. I’ve only heard the complete prayer said once.

Another thought has been to “Let go and let God”. Not sure where that comes from but learned it from a friend. Thanks, to Judy  T. My understanding is that the Serenity Prayer originates from A. A., Alcoholics Anonymous, and perhaps the other statement does as well. It doesn’t really matter although I like to know that I’m posting correct information.

I’m pleased that I’ve been blogging this journey of mine. It is beneficial for me to be journaling. And I know that others are reading my posts. Yesterday, I figured out how to print all of my previous posts. Being old school, I want to look at hard copies and review the information I’ve provided. My aim is to provide a timeline without overly repeating information. Having something interesting to read is a goal as well.

Recently needed to purchase a new pack of printer paper. Last night’s discovery was running out of black ink. Thanks to hubby, there is now both replacement black and colour ink cartridges in the printer. So can review my print copies and make a few corrections. For me there is nothing like printing a copy in order to find errors.

This past week had some bad days for my Dad. He hasn’t been eating properly. Therefore he ended up with stomach pain and being gassy. That turned into having vomiting and diarrhoea. Then he had a better day to be followed with another day of diarrhoea. On that particular day, he had forgotten about the previous day of both vomiting and diarrhoea. So having some memory loss does have some benefits! He did cook potatoes and pork chops one day after that. And went outside with his compost and to the mailbox so that was a good day.

Today I walked over to deliver his jeans that I had washed and a library book that I had picked out for him. He was just getting up and surprised to find that it was already 1:40 p.m. Of course, he had been up early to get the bed which he takes back to bed to read. My two pugs were with me and they behaved themselves and he enjoyed seeing them.

Last Saturday, my husband and I had stopped by some groceries he wanted. Dad was sorting through some mail and made a discovery  that he had missed an appointment with the eye surgeon. He wants to have surgery for a cataract. Has already had one eye done, as they say. So I rebooked that appointment for this coming week. My name is listed as a contact as well but no message was left on my answering machine. Dad is also getting confused thinking he already has an appointment in a few months time. However, that appointment is with the optometrist not the ophthalmologist.

Another week is nearing the end. According to one FaceBook post, it’s Grey’s eve! Tomorrow is Friday. Hubby and I are heading “off island”. Jann Arden is playing in Truro, Nova Scotia. It’s Mother’s Day weekend. Our 17th wedding anniversary is on Saturday.

I feel I’m in a countdown mode. My return to work is scheduled for Wednesday, May 13. I had mistakenly thought it was May 12. So it will be an adjustment after time off to get back to speed. Looking forward to being back at my workplace though.

Crossing my fingers that my #1 brother and girlfriend come over to visit. They were unable to do so last weekend. We need a little getaway.

Blessings,

Leave a Reply

